

ಮೈಸೂರು ವಿಶ್ವವಿದ್ಯಾನಿಲಯ UNIVERSITY OF MYSORE

Manasagangotri, Mysuru-570 006

DEPARTMENT OF STUDIES IN SANSKRIT





Genesis

The founding fathers of the University of Mysore have established the Department of Studies in Sanskrit in 1916. They incorporated two sanskrit quotes as the motto of the University to summarize the vision, moral fabric and idealism. It is the sixth oldest in India and first in Karnataka. Honours Degree and Post Graduate Courses in Sanskrit were offered in the Maharajas College until 1960 under the able guidance and headship of Prof. M. Hiriyanna, and later by other eminent Sanskrit scholars. Prof.S. Ramachandra Rao was the head of the newly-started post-graduate department and research in Sanskrit at Manasa Ganotri in 1960. The department has been cllosely associated with the Oriental Research Institute, Mysore. Vidwan R Shaamashastry who discovered the Arthashastra used to gudie and mentor sanskrit students. Prof.K.Krishnamurthy, Dr.R.S.Shivaganesha Murthy and many others of the department have made invaluable contributions to the growth of Sanskrit literature and language. Prof.H.P.Devaki was the visiting professor at the Sorbonne Noubelle University c/o Embassy of India, Paris, France for three years. Many of our alumni have held prestigious positions in esteemed colleges and universities. More than 200 Ph.D degrees are awarded for researches in the various branches of Sanskrit literature. Interdisciplinary and multi-disciplinary research is encouraged to promote the relevance of Sanskrit in contemporary times.

Academic Programmes

- 1. M.A in Sanskrit (2 years, 4 semesters).
- 2. PG Diploma in Manuscriptology (1 year, non-Semester).
- 3. PhD- As per UGC and University regulations.

Endowments Instituted: 14

- 1. Dr K. Krishnamurthy Gold Medal.
- 2. Asthana Vidwan M G Nanjunda Aradhya Memorial Gold Medal.
- 3. N Rama Rao Memorial Gold Medal.
- 4. Sri Avadhoota Datta Peetha Endowment Gold Medal.
- 5. Aasthana Vidwan Kavirathna Mandikal Ramashastri Gold Medal.
- 6. Swamy Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari Mysore Branch Endowment Gold Medal.
- 7. The Narasimha Murthy Narasamma Maharaja's College Centenary Medal.
- 8. The Dharmasthala Sri Rathnavarma Hegde Gold Medal.
- 9. Dr H P Malledevaru Memorial Endowment Gold Medal.
- 10. The M Hiriyanna Birth Centenary Gold Medal.
- 11. Dr P D Krishnaswami Memorial Gold Medal.
- 12. The Purna Krishna Rao Medal And Prizes And The Sri Lakshamma Medal.
- 13. The Professor C R Narasimha Sastry, Sanskrit Prize Endowment.
- 14. Late Bindiganavale Appanna Iyengar Cash Prize.

Thrust Areas of Research

- · Alankara Shastra.
- · Yoga Philosophy.
- · Meemamsa Shastra.
- Vedic Literature.
- · Vedanta.

- · Manuscriptology.
- · Nyaya Shastra.
- · Sanskrit Grammar.
 - · Artha Shastra.
- Classical Literature.
- Ph.D.s guided 29
- Publications 11
- National Journals 31
- International Journals 13











Infrastructure

- Two well-ventilated and spacious class rooms cum Seminar Halls having computers with LCD projectors, two web-cameras; and fine furniture.
- An exclusive Chairman Chamber adjacent to the Office Room with desktops and internet facility.
- Four independent staff rooms having computers with wired internet connection.
- · Separate wash rooms for men and women.
- Pure RO Drinking Water is available all the time.
- · The department library has rare books.
- Centralized High speed wi-fi facility for all the students and faculty.
- The department is surrounded by a lush green garden.

Outreach Activities

In order to propagate and popularize Sanskrit among the general public the department has been organizing Spoken Sanskrit Workshops annually.

Best practices/ Major events

It is the only department in India where Sanskrit is promoted through 14 endowments and various scholarships. Education, boarding and lodging to SC and ST students are provided completely free of cost. Personal attention, overall development, career opportunities and research guidance are provided through Mentor-Mentee groups.

Currently, the department has been organizing an annual one-day national conference on contemporary issues reflecting on Sanskrit sources. Pulication of conference proceedings with ISBN has been a regular feature.

During the Covid-19 lockdown period, Dr.R.Suresha has uploaded 300+ online classes on the YouTube in the interest of the students,. It facilitates 24x7 learning from anywhere and saves device memory.

About YouTuble channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqrqItgxytv38GMo1xyjzGQ/about





Present Faculty Profile



Dr. M. G. Manjunatha M.A., Ph.D

Professor (In-Charge Chairperson)

Specialization: Old Kannada Literature, Epigraphy, Paleography, Manuscriptology.

Awards: Gowthama Buddha Award, Sujayashree Special Award, Kempegowda Award, Karnataka History Academy Award, Kannada Sahitya Parishat Award, Fardinand Kitel Award.

Former Faculty-List

- 1. Prof.M.Hiriyanna
- 2. Prof.D.Shrinivasacharya
- 3. Prof. C.R. Narasimha Shastry
- 4. Prof.M.Lakshminarasimhaiah
- 5. Prof. V.T.Tirunarayana Iyengar
- 6. Prof. H.L. Hariyappa
- 7. Prof.N.Shivarama Shastry
- 8. Prof.S.Ramachandra Rao
- 9 Prof Marulasiddaiah
- 10. Vidwan A.S. Venkatanathan

- 11. Dr. Shantamurthy
- 12. Prof. H.P.Malledevaru
- 13. Prof.K.Rajagopalachar
- 14. Prof. R. Shivaganesha Murthy
- 15. Dr.B.L.Nadoni
- 16. Prof.H.P.Devaki
- 17. Prof.M.R. Veerabhadra Swarmy
- 18. Prof.B.A.Dodamani
- 19. Dr. Ananta Nagendra Bhat
- 20. Prof.K.Narayana Bhatta
- 21. Prof.N.M.Talawar

The academic programme is supported by 4 Guest Faculty

Contact:

The Chairperson

Department of Studies in Sanskrit,

Manasagangotri, Mysuru-570 006.

Phone: 0821-2419821. Email: chairperson@sanskrit.uni-mysore.ac.in

office@sanskrit.uni-mysore.ac.in

Webpage - http://uni-mysore.ac.in/english-version/sanskrit

Social Media: https://chat.whatsapp.com/EpDE3BXNL9i1G63xDrw5NJ