Brief History of Department

Department of Studies in Mathematics was established in 1960 with Prof. K. Venkatachala Iyengar as the first Head of the Department who was instrumental in making the Department as an active research center. Professors Keshava Hegde, T. S. Nanjundaiah and S. Bhargava continued this Mathematical tradition. Some of the other distinguished faculties who contributed to the development of the Department are Professors H. S. Gopalakrishna, E. Sampathkumar, C. Puttamadaiah, B. S. Kiranagi, B. S. Panduranga Rao, S. Nanjunda Rao, Huchegowda, Padmavathamma, H. N. Ramaswamy and Chandrashekar Adiga.

Currently there are five faculty members with research specialization cutting across the broad areas of Algebra, Analysis, Number Theory, Graph Theory, Special Functions, Partition Theory, Theory of Quadratic Forms, Differential Equations and Numerical Methods.

Our faculty members have received various national and international awards for their academic achievements.

The Department has conducted several National and International Conferences, Workshops and refresher courses with UGC, NBHM, CSIR, DST assistance.
Several of the alumni of the Department have achieved great academic excellence and are now occupying high positions in premiere institutions and Universities in India and abroad.

The Department has established academic contacts with reputed Universities and Institutions in India and abroad such as University of Illinois, University of Wisconsin, Pennsylvania State University, University of Florida in U.S.A., Keio University in Japan, Kongju National University in South Korea, University of New South Wales in Australia.

Many Mathematician of world repute from U.S.A., France, Canada, U.K., Australia, Japan, South Korea, Turkey, New Zealand and other countries have visited our Department and have delivered lectures. Many of them have done collaborative research work with the members of our faculty.

The Department has received several projects from different funding agencies such as DST and CSIR.

The Department has been recognized under UGC-SAP DRS II Programme for a period of five years with effect from 09-04-2018.